Listen Live Now:

Seven former 49ers players nominated to Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019

© Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday morning, the Pro Football Hall of Fame released a list of 102 nominees eligible for induction in the Class of 2019. The 49ers have seven former players up for nomination.

That list includes quarterback Jeff Garcia, running back Ricky Watters, tight end Brent Jones, defensive tackle Bryant Young, linebacker Takeo Spikes, safety Tim McDonald, and wide receiver Isaac Bruce, who was a finalist in 2018.

The 49ers have 27 Hall-of-Famers in total, the last of which was Terrell Owens, who was inducted in the 2018 class.

Current 49ers general manager John Lynch has been nominated for the sixth consecutive season. Lynch, a nine-time Pro Bowler and 15-year NFL veteran with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Denver Broncos, has advanced to the top-15 in every year he has been eligible.

The list of 102 nominees will shrink to 25 in November, then 15 in January. The class will be officially announced Feb. 2. Between four and eight nominees will be enshrined.

Below is the full list of nominees in the 2019 class.

Quarterbacks (5)
—Jeff Garcia, Randall Cunningham, Dave Krieg, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair

Running backs (14) —Ricky Watters, Shaun Alexander, Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Larry Centers, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Darryl Johnston, Eric Metcalf (WR/KR/PR), Clinton Portis, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Chris Warren

Wide receivers (9) — Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason, Sterling Sharpe, Rod Smith, Hines Ward

Tight ends (4) — Brent Jones, Mark Bavaro, Tony Gonzalez, Jay Novacek

Offensive linemen (15) — Willie Anderson (T), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Steve Hutchinson (G), Mike Kenn (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Chris Samuels (T), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)

Defensive linemen (7) —Bryant Young (DT), La’Roi Glover (DT/NT), Russell Maryland (DT), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Richard Seymour (DT), Neil Smith (DE)

Linebackers (14) —Takeo Spikes, Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, London Fletcher, Seth Joyner, Wilber Marshall, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Chris Spielman, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas

Defensive backs (18) — Tim McDonald (S), John Lynch (S), Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Champ Bailey (CB), Ronde Barber (CB/S), Bill Bates (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Nick Collins (S), Thomas Everett (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), Ed Reed (FS), Dennis Smith (S), Troy Vincent (CB), Adrian Wilson (S), Darren Woodson (S)

Punters/kickers (3) — Jason Elam (K), Jeff Feagles (P), Sean Landeta (P)

Special teams (2) — Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)

Coaches (11) — Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jim Hanifan, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil


More from KNBR