Listen Live Now:

Bruce Bochy ejected from dugout after arguing low strike call


SAN FRANCISCO – While the excitement of a 1-1 ballgame may not easily be found on face value, Bruce Bochy did his best to liven up a pitching dominated ballgame.

In the bottom of the seventh, Buster Posey took a strike call low in the strike-zone, and after wincing to the call and taking a step out of the batter’s box the Giants skipper decided to voice his opinion on the call.

Home plate umpire Tim Timmons was having none of it. After mere seconds Bochy found himself out of the ballgame and headed for the showers early.

In an attempt to breathe some life into a Giants offense that was stagnant to that point (scoring one run on only four hits) Bochy gave his best Earl Weaver impression, thundering out to home plate and giving Timmons a piece of his mind. Despite the long encounter, the call remained, and Bochy’s night was over.

This is Bochy’s second ejection of 2019, and the 75th of his managing career, putting him at 9th all-time.

Luckily for Bochy, he has a long plane ride to Cincinnati tomorrow morning to cool off as the Giants take on the Reds Friday night.

 

More from KNBR