March 7, 2013
Is Matt Barnes saying anything we weren't all thinking?
When the word came down that Serge Ibaka was not getting suspended for his foul hitting Blake Griffin in the crotch the NBA twitterverse did a collective, "Really?" I don't think Ibaka intentionally hit Griffin in a place no man wants to be hit, he was trying to shake Griffin's grip on his jersey - but you are still responsible for your body and actions. What matters is the result, not the intent. Ibaka should have been suspended a game.
Shockingly, the Clippers agreed he should have sat (as did LeBron and Wade).
And Griffin's Clipper teammate Barnes said if it was anyone else it was would have been a suspension. This tweet went on to TMI:
Let me or @mettaworldpeace do that & I guarantee its a 5 game suspension.. I luv *how* there are different rules, for different people!
Then there was this:
You can INTENTIONALLY grab or hit someone in the balls & not get suspended, but you push someone & get suspended. #ImConfused— Matt Barnes (@Matt_Barnes22) March 05, 2013
So if I would have back handed Ibaka, I would have been the only one to get suspended right??????????????????????????— Matt Barnes (@Matt_Barnes22) March 05, 2013
Anyone think Barnes is wrong?