Listen Live Now:

Steve Kerr calls officiating ‘mind-boggling’ after wild loss to Minnesota

The Warriors’ 131-130 overtime loss to the Minnesota Timberwolves on Friday featured one of the wildest, and most controversial, endings we’ve seen all season.

Down three points with 5.8 seconds left, the Warriors inbounded the ball to Kevin Durant who promptly hit a 3-pointer and was fouled for an apparent and-1 opportunity. Curiously, the officials ruled that Durant was fouled before the shot and waived off the three points.

The Warriors then inbounded the ball again with 4.4 seconds remaining. This time Curry received it, and hit a step-back 3-pointer in the corner to tie the game at 130 with 0.5 seconds left. Curry and his Warriors teammates appeared to taunt the officials after the shot went in.

The game wouldn’t make it to double overtime, however, as Durant was called for a foul on the Wolves’ ensuing inbounds pass. While replays appeared to show Durant tugging on the jersey of Karl-Anthony Towns, the pass didn’t seem to be close to catchable. Towns hit a free throw, giving Minnesota the win.

After the game, Warriors head coach Steve Kerr was visibly frustrated by the late game officiating.

“You mean when the lob was going 10 feet over the rim?” Kerr said when asked about the foul call on Durant.

What about the call that eliminated the potential four-point play?

“Did I think (the foul) was before the shot? I just watched the replay. He caught, he shot, and it’s a four-point play. I mean, I don’t know what else to say. Kind of mind-boggling. You go up for a shot, you get fouled — in any league — that’s a good bucket and a free throw. In any league, not just the NBA.”

Based on Durant’s Instagram activity it would appear he also didn’t agree with the call.

Steph also didn’t mince words in his postgame comments, sarcastically calling official Mark Kogut “the MVP of the night.”


More from KNBR

Get KNBR in your inbox

Subscribe today to bring The Sports Leader to your email inbox weekly.