Listen Live Now:

Three 49ers win PFF season awards, including NFL’s best player

© Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

The awards continue to pile up for the 49ers. The Pro Football Writers’ Association already doled out a few to Nick Bosa (Rookie and Defensive Rookie of the Year) and John Lynch (Executive of the Year), while naming George Kittle the league’s best tight end, and Richard Sherman as one of the two best corners in the NFC.

The AP All-Pro first team also sealed that honor for Kittle, and saw second-team nods for both Sherman and DeForest Buckner. Sherman was also awarded the Garry Niver Award for his helpful and respectful interactions with local media this season.

The official NFL Honors won’t be announced until the eve of the Super Bowl on Feb. 1, where Sherman is also up for Walter Payton Man of the Year, Bosa for Defensive Rookie of the Year, and Kittle for Offensive Player of the Year.

According to Pro Football Focus, that trio is deserving of more awards.

PFF named Bosa the Defensive Rookie of the Year, named Sherman the Top Coverage Defender, and named Kittle the Dwight Stephenson Award winner. For as underwhelming as that award title is (named after the Miami Dolphins’ Hall of Fame center), it’s actually PFF’s highest honor, naming the best player (not MVP) on either sides of the ball, in an effort to separate that “valuable” term and identify the best player.


More from KNBR