On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Listen Live from the Casino Matrix Studio

49ers announce moves as roster cut down to 53 players



Photo Credit: Chris Mezzavilla

The 49ers have finally cut their roster down to 53 players, announcing their roster cuts nearly two hours after the 1 p.m. PT deadline.

Below are the roster cuts, per the team. Here are some of the more notable moves:

  • Cutting Nate Sudfeld, sticking with two quarterbacks
  • Cutting the 25-year-old Colton McKivitz in favor of the 32-year-old Tom Compton
  • Cutting Dontae Johnson in favor of Davontae Harris, who has been mostly injured since joining the 49ers
  • Cutting Wayne Gallman over JaMycal Hasty
  • Cutting Ha Ha Clinton-Dix over Tavon Wilson
  • Trading Jonas Griffith to keep five linebackers, with Marcell Harris and Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles being the fourth and fifth linebackers
  • Cutting tight end MyCole Pruitt, who’s a solid run blocker and was guaranteed $500,000 of his base salary
  • Cutting Travis Benjamin and Nsimba Webster and sticking with the most talented wide receivers in Jalen Hurd and Jauan Jennings as the final two

The following is from the 49ers:

“The San Francisco 49ers today announced they have traded LB Jonas Griffith and a 2022 seventh-round draft pick to the Denver Broncos in exchange for the Broncos 2022 sixth-round and 2023 seventh-round draft choices. The team also announced the following roster moves:

The following players have been placed on the Reserve/Physically Unable to Perform List:

Pos.          Name                                          

DB            Tarvarius Moore

RB            Jeff Wilson Jr.

The following player has been placed on the Injured Reserve List:

Pos.          Name                                          

T                Shon Coleman

The following players have been released:

Pos.          Name                                          

WR           Travis Benjamin

OL             Jake Brendel

S               Ha Ha Clinton-Dix

RB            Wayne Gallman II

CB            Dontae Johnson

OL             Senio Kelemete

TE             Jordan Matthews

TE             MyCole Pruitt

QB            Nate Sudfeld

DL             Eddie Yarbrough

The following players have been waived:

Pos.          Name                                          

DL             Alex Barrett

WR           River Cracraft

DL             Darrion Daniels

OL             Alfredo Gutierrez

LB             Justin Hilliard

FB             Josh Hokit

OL             Corbin Kaufusi

S               Jared Mayden

OL             Colton McKivitz

CB            Alexander Myres

OL             Dakoda Shepley

LB             Elijah Sullivan

WR           Nsimba Webster

The following player has been placed on the Reserve/Suspended List:

Pos.          Name                                          

DL             Jordan Willis”

Here’s what the roster looks like after those cuts:


In (2): Jimmy Garoppolo, Trey Lance

Out (1): Nate Sudfeld


In (5): Kyle Juszczyk, Raheem Mostert, Trey Sermon, Elijah Mitchell, JaMycal Hasty

Out (2): Wayne Gallman, Josh Hokit

PUP (1): Jeff Wilson Jr.

Tight end:

In (3): George Kittle, Ross Dwelley, Charlie Woerner

Out (1): MyCole Pruitt, Jordan Matthews

Wide receiver:

In (6): Deebo Samuel, Brandon Aiyuk, Mohamed Sanu, Trent Sherfield, Jauan Jennings, Jalen Hurd

Out (3): River Cracraft, Travis Benjamin, Nsimba Webster

Waived/Injured Reserve (2): Austin Watkins Jr., Richie James Jr.

Offensive line:

In (8): Trent Williams, Laken Tomlinson, Alex Mack, Daniel Brunskill, Mike McGlinchey, Aaron Banks, Jaylon Moore, Tom Compton

Out (6): Colton McKivitz, Dakoda Shepley, Jake Brendel, Senio Kelemente, Alfredo Gutierrez, Corbin Kaufusi

Injured Reserve (1): Shon Coleman

Defensive line:

In (11): Nick Bosa, Javon Kinlaw, D.J. Jones, Arik Armstead, Dee Ford, Samson Ebukam, Maurice Hurst, Zach Kerr, Kentavius Street, Arden Key, Kevin Givens

Out (3): Darrion Daniels, Eddie Yarbrough, Alex Barrett

Suspended (1): Jordan Willis


In (5): Fred Warner, Dre Greenlaw, Azeez Al-Shaair, Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles, Marcell Harris

Out (2): Elijah Sullivan, Justin Hilliard

Traded (1): Jonas Griffith

Injured Reserve (1): Mychal Kendricks


In (6): K’Waun Williams, Jason Verrett, Emmanuel Moseley, Ambry Thomas, Deommodore Lenoir, Davontae Harris

Out (2): Dontae Johnson, , Alexander Myres


In (4): Jimmie Ward, Jaquiski Tartt, Talanoa Hufanga, Tavon Wilson

Out (2): Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Jared Mayden

PUP/IR (2): Tarvarius Moore, Tony Jefferson

Special teams (3): Taybor Pepper, Mitch Wishnowsky, Robbie Gould

Here’s what the roster cuts look like, visualized.

Graphics by Jake Hutchinson, Dieter Kurtenbach