Listen Live Now:

2 Giants named finalists for Silver Slugger Award

© D. Ross Cameron | 2021 Oct 14

Buster Posey and Brandon Crawford are up for another award.

A few days after being named as finalists for the Player’s Choice Comeback Player of the Year, the two veterans are also in the conversation to win the NL Silver Slugger at their respective positions.

Posey, 34, had his best season at the plate since winning MVP in 2012, looking reborn after opting out of 2020’s COVID shortened season. Posey slashed .304 / .390 / .499, his batting average and OPS the highest among major league catchers who appeared in at least 100 games.

Posey’s 18 home runs were the most he’s hit since 2015 (19) and more than he hit in 2018 and 19 combined.

Will Smith (Dodgers), J.T. Realmuto (Phillies) and Omar Narvaez (Brewers) are the other finalists at catcher. All three finished the season with a lower OPS than Posey, giving the Giants catcher a good chance to take home the award. Posey has previously won the Silver Slugger four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2017).

Crawford, also 34, put up the best numbers of his career at the plate across the board. His batting average (.298), on-base percentage (.373) and slugging percentage (.522) were all career-highs, as were his 25 home runs and 90 RBIs.

Crawford faces stiffer competition as he looks to take home the award for the second time. MVP candidate Fernando Tatis Jr. (Padres), Trea Turner (Dodgers) and Willy Adames (Brewers) are the other nominees.

The winners of the award will be named on Nov. 11 at 3 p.m. PT. According to MLB, Silver Slugger Award winners are decided by votes from the manager and three coaches of each MLB team. Votes are based on a combination of statistical production as well as the managers’ and coaches’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.


Get KNBR in your inbox

Subscribe today to bring The Sports Leader to your email inbox weekly.