On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Listen Live from the Casino Matrix Studio

Brandon Crawford wins 4th Gold Glove Award



© Neville E. Guard | 2021 Oct 14

For the fourth time in his career and first since 2017, Brandon Crawford is a gold glover.

Crawford won the 2021 National League Gold Glove Award for his defensive acumen at shortstop. By matching his career-high for fielding percentage and anchoring San Francisco’s infield, Crawford beat out the Mets’ Francisco Lindor and Pittsburgh’s Kevin Newman for the distinction.

The Gold Glove winners are selected by managers of all 30 teams and up to six of each club’s respective coaches, with an additional component weighted to an advanced statistic that measures fielding.

This year, Crawford earned the honor with a resurgent season. He placed sixth among shortstops in Fangraphs’ fielding runs above average. His 15 outs above average was also the sixth-highest mark in MLB.

Crawford, 34, won three straight Gold Gloves from 2015 through 2017. Now with four Gold Gloves, Crawford is tied with J.T. Snow for third-most in Giants history (the award started in 1957). Willie Mays and Barry Bonds lead the franchise with 12 and five, respectively.

Crawford’s been a historically great fielder in his 11-year career; only 11 other shortstops have ever won at least four Gold Gloves.